Earth Day 2016

Happy Earth Day everyone! My blog posts have been few and far between because work and life have just been really draining. 2016 has already been a trying and devastating year, so I’m just trying to focus on all of the good things because what else can ya do? As you may know, I freelance write for What’s Up about twice a month, and love me some Instagram, so that’s pretty much where you can get your EP Veg Snob fix 😉

I know many people thought the whole It’s All Good EP campaign was lame, but it really has been all good in EP this month. San Jacinto Plaza finally reopened last week, and it’s really beautiful. I can’t wait to see it at night. This weekend is Earth Day weekend and there is so much going on.

As an EPPL librarian, I’ve gotta plug all my library events first. My seed library project for the public libraries, which I briefly mentioned last year, is almost ready to launch! In the meantime, you can attend monthly workshops taught by the El Paso County Master Gardeners at 3 of our locations. The last one for April is tomorrow (April 23) at the Esperanza Moreno Library on the eastside at 10 am. More details on the Sow.Grow.ReapEat project and upcoming workshops can be found at sowgrowreapeat.weebly.com.

After you attend the gardening workshop, head down to the grand reopening of the Irving Schwartz Library. This library has reopened after undergoing a massive reconstruction, and they are celebrating their grand opening on Saturday with music and food from 11 am-1 pm. I so wish I could go, because the Main Library and Irving Schwartz were the public libraries I was raised on and why I love libraries, thanks to my parents. By the way, they are still avid patrons and are so happy to have their library back as I’m sure the rest of the community feels the same.

After the grand reopening, head to the Earth Day celebration downtown at the El Paso Downtown Art and Farmers Market where I’ll be representing the library from 10 am-3 pm! There will be plenty of activities, including VEGAN ICE CREAM SANDWICHES (details below)! And, if you didn’t already know, The Green Ingredient sells amazing VEGAN CHEESE pretty much every week there!

Also, Brassica Farm will be selling some of the best greens you’ve ever tasted. Full disclosure, I have befriended the farmer through another good friend, but seriously guys, his produce is so good. Try it for yourself! In addition to downtown, he will be selling at the Ardovino’s Desert Crossing Farmers Market. This Saturday, the following will be available at both locations: Greens: arugula, spinach, red spinach, lettuce, mizuna, red mustard, green Mustard, red Russian kale, dinosaur kale, and Roots: beets, radishes, and turnips.

Also, be sure to check out this new initiative, Grace Community Farms on facebook and instagram.

I apologize if I’ve forgotten any other events or initiatives, and have grammatical errors. Let me know in the comments! This is also why I don’t blog often. I don’t ever blog on the fly. I take forever editing!

Here’s a little Instagram roundup:


  

Here’s my Earth Day tip: Wash your local farmers market greens (these are from Brassica Farm in Chaparral) by swishing them around in a bowl of water. Use the “dirty” water to water your plants. Bonus: If you find bugs floating around in the remaining water, your produce is most definitely organic!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

