Firecracker Potato Salad

You guys, Kickstarter is out of control. A man just raised $15,000 to make potato salad. He hasn’t even decided what kind yet. He’s just going to make potato salad. He was going try 2 different recipes if he reached the $100 goal. Dude reached $15,000, although it says over $70,000.

Zack Danger Brown, I didn’t back your Kickstarter and I didn’t create this recipe for you, but here ya go. A vegan potato salad recipe because you said you’d have a vegan option.

I made this potato salad on the Fourth of July and decided to get a little Chopped-style and make up a recipe with ingredients on hand. Supposedly the trick to perfect potato salad is boiling your potatoes whole and unpeeled for about 30-45 minutes. I of course found this out after I peeled, cubed, and chucked my potatoes into the boiling water; I had decided to save time by boiling the potatoes while searching for recipe ideas. I’m glad I accidentally didn’t follow the tip because the potatoes’ flavor and texture worked out fine with less time and hassle.

I should totally create a Kickstarter to pay my bills or at least an EP Veg Snob cookbook. 😉 Or I should create a Kickstarter to fund giving to other Kickstarter projects like in Portlandia! Remember the Kickstarter Film Awards? Watch the skit at the end of this post.

Firecracker Potato Salad. Because I made it on 4th of July & it has chili paste?
Firecracker Potato Salad. Because I made it on 4th of July & it has chili paste? I didn’t know what else to call it.

Firecracker Potato Salad

2 pounds potatoes, peeled and cubed (I used about 5-6 small potatoes)
Mustard greens, about 1 cup, cut or torn into bite-sized pieces (just use mustard if you don’t want to bother with the greens. Albertsons has a great horseradish Dijon mustard that’s cheap.)
1-2 teaspoons Sambal Oelek chili paste, or any chili paste you like
1 teaspoon Champagne wine vinegar (white wine or apple cider vinegar will work, too)
½ cup veganaise
Smoked Paprika (optional)
Salt & fresh cracked black pepper

Boil the potatoes for 20 minutes or until tender. Drain and toss with mustard greens. Set aside to cool or rinse in cold water if you’re short on time. In a small bowl, mix the rest of the ingredients together to make the dressing. Toss the dressing with the potatoes, sprinkle a bit of the smoked paprika if you like, and season with salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

