T-Day 2012 Roundup

Vegan Pumpkin Pie (photo links to post w/recipe)

Thanksgiving has always been one of my least favorite holidays. It’s just always seemed stressful to me and I hate the smell and taste of turkey. Even before I was a vegetarian, my parents had to worry about what I was going to eat. All I wanted to eat was a happy meal from McDonald’s, but they used to be closed on holidays. Nowadays, picky bratty kids can indulge in Mickey D’s on Thanksgiving day. So unfair!

I know that Thanksgiving isn’t all about the food, but with the majority of our family up in Denver, we aren’t always able to gather altogether. Even the family members that do reside in El Paso don’t all come together. A lot of times it’s just my parents and me, so it seems like just another family lunch or dinner.

This year, I am thankful for my family and friends who have been there for us throughout the years, and especially during this recent rough patch. As a so-called foodie, I am thankful that there is always food in our house and that I can be a snob about what I eat and drink.

Below, you’ll find my annual roundup of T-day recipes. Is it me or are magazines and sites slacking it this year? I roll my eyes every time I see a stuffed squash recipe. Even the non-veg recipes seem boring. I’m only listing a few lists that appealed to me, so I would also refer to my previous roundups: 2010 and 2011. Not into cooking and don’t mind driving to Las Cruces? You can choose from a variety of fall holiday sides (some are gluten & dairy free) from the Mountain View Market Co-op. Orders must be placed by this Sunday, November 18. More info here>>

**If you’re looking for a great non-dairy whipped cream and don’t mind a hint of coconut taste, try whipping up some of your own. You’ll need to refrigerate a can of coconut milk (full fat only) overnight. Turn the can upside down, open it, and pour out the liquid, reserving it for later use. Scoop out the solidified coconut milk into a mixing bowl and whip for 3-5 minutes or until stiff peaks form. Boom. Instant, decadent whipped cream. You can also add a sweetener, extracts, liqueurs….options are endless. Check out a photo tutorial from Oh She Glows.**

What are you making this year? Are you using Pinterest to plan Thanksgiving? Share links to your recipes, blogs, boards, etc. in the comments and I’ll share them on Facebook and Twitter.

I of course haven’t decided what to make yet.

Epicurious App
Leave a Reply

