April Updates

I say this every month, but March was busy and went by so fast, and now April is going just as fast. I’ve taken on quite a few new projects both professionally and personally, so I haven’t had time to post anything.

I want to quickly share some EP foodie news and a couple of veg friendly events that are coming up. I never thought I would be saying this, but I think veggie burgers are trending in El Paso.

Events:

  • Spring Dinner w/guest speaker Robert Cohen at the Sunland Park Holiday Inn on Saturday, April 14 @ 6 pm. You won’t want to miss the Vegetarian Society’s annual spring dinner, so hurry and make your reservation and payment by tomorrow (Tuesday, April 10). It’s $20 for nonmembers and $15 for members and students. To pay, visit vsep.org, click on the “Donate” button at the top, fill in the required fields, and pay with a credit card. I attended last year’s dinner and was blown away by the speaker, but slightly disappointed by the lackluster food. This year’s menu sounds more promising and features a vegan southwest theme of salad, enchilada casserole, avocado tacos, zucchini and corn, almond green beans, and peach cobbler. I am really looking forward to hearing the speaker and eating the food of course. Hope to see you there!
  • Cook the Book Club @ the Dorris Van Doren Library on Saturday, April 21 @ 2 pm. This is a fun, new monthly cookbook club at the public library that meets for a potluck and discussion. This month’s featured cookbook is The Vegan Slow Cooker by Kathy Hester. The flier and details are at the end of this post. Don’t forget to sign up by Monday, April 16! If you’re not sure what to expect, visit the library’s blog to read about the outcome of their first meeting.

News:

  • Chipotle opened to much fanfare and controversy in March. Every time the media posted something about Chipotle, there were tons of both negative and positive comments. So much debate occurred, that the Times held an online poll and then had their reporters conduct burrito research. You can read about the outcome of the Burrito Wars here. As much as I love supporting local businesses, I must admit that I am Team Chipotle mainly for vegetarian reasons. FYI, I don’t order the burrito anymore; I usually get the vegetarian bowl or salad.
  • Japanese Crepe House is now open on the westside. They invited me to their press party, which was very exciting and delicious! I’ll be blogging about it soon. In the meantime, go like their page and check them out. They have vegetarian crepes, sushi, and dessert items.
  • The Hoppy Monk added the Veggie Monk burger to their menu. I’ll be trying it and reviewing it soon.
  • Crave now has a veggie patty option. I tried it during their $5 burger night on Tuesday. It tasted like falafel, and I love falafel, so I of course enjoyed it. Sorry, I didn’t take any pics. Next time!
  • And even more veggie burger news…Ripe is now serving housemade veggie burgers. Can’t wait to try it!
  • The Square Cow Burgers, Beer, Wine is now open. Anyone know if they have a veggie burger?
  • Tosca Pizzeria officially opens this month. Visit their Facebook page for updates.
  • Primo’s is now selling home brewing supplies. They even held a workshop a couple of weeks ago.
  • The Pitch closed down, which is sad because they were local and very vegetarian friendly.
  • The westside isn’t getting a Super Target yet, but the Target at Sunland Park is getting an upgrade. They’ll be expanding their marketplace area and adding a pharmacy. This is exciting because their marketplace carries Gardein and other vegetarian brands, organic items, hard to find foodie items, and environmentally friendly household products at good prices.

Let me know if you have any news or corrections.

Click on the fliers to enlarge them.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

