November 2011 Events

We’re already in November and here I am, perpetually trying to catch up with everything. I’ve been adjusting to yet another new work schedule, planning on selling vegan cupcakes, and getting ready to compete in the 23rd Annual Lone Star Vegetarian Chili Cook-off (!). I will be competing on behalf of the Vegetarian Society of El Paso, who has graciously agreed to fund my trip there! I’m super excited to go, but of course all the fun things are happening this weekend.

FYI, I’ll soon be posting a roundup of some veg Thanksgiving recipes that have caught my eye.

Here’s a list of the events going on this month that are veg friendly. Please let me know if I’ve left anything out. I didn’t include Let’s Cook El Paso, which takes place this Saturday, November 12, because I wasn’t sure how veg friendly it would be. Feel free to also tell me if you plan on going to any of these events and if you liked/disliked them.

Please note the upcoming deadlines to register on some of the events. 

Saturday, November 12 
VSEP Vegan Bake Sale9:30 am-2 pm
Cielo Vista Natural Market, 8900 Viscount
Part of the proceeds will go to a local animal shelter.
If you would like to volunteer to bake or staff the table, please contact Liz at liz.walsh.rotifer@gmail.com or call 915-342-7630.

Sunday, November 13
Hope & Anchor’s 3rd Annual Chili Cook Off: 4 pm (3 pm for participants)
$20 to compete (entry fee due Saturday, November 12), $5 to taste chili, $2 hot dogs
Proceeds benefit the Rescue Mission of El Paso
Carnivore & Herbivore Categories. 1st Place: $100, 2nd Place: $50, Crowd Favorite $25 (I’m totally taking cred for this addition)

Saturday, November 19
Compassionate Thanksgiving Dinner (Reserve & pay online by Nov. 15): Meet & greet @ 6 pm, Eat @ 6:30 pm
Sunland Park Holiday Inn, 900 Sunland Park Dr.
Cost: $15
With special guest speaker, Dr. Melanie Joy! You can check out her newest book at the library. Request Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, & Wear Cows from EPPL’s online catalog here.

By the way, I’m thinking of starting a Vegan Drinks meetup in El Paso. Would anyone be interested in planning, promoting, or attending?

 

Leave a Reply

