Taco Tuesday: Guacamole Tacos

Last Tuesday, I shared my version of potato tacos. Today, I’m sharing another favorite of mine that’s less carbolicious and healthier. Sure, you’ve had it as a dip or condiment, but have you ever had a guacamole taco? It’s a shame that many Mexican restaurants don’t include them on their menu (or is this just an El Paso thing?), especially since they most likely already serve guacamole.

I’ve known several people that hate guacamole until they try mine. I’m not by any means tooting my own horn here. It’s probably because they share my same love-hate relationship with guacamole. I love the avocado, but I hate biting into chunks of raw garlic or onion. I don’t even care how small you dice it, the flavor is so pungent and overpowers the taste of the avocado. When I make guacamole at home, I don’t put onions, garlic, or tomatoes in it it. I love tomatoes, but chunks of them are banned by a certain member of this household.

Guacamole w/lettuce, tomato, & jalapeno

Lisa’s Guacamole

This is such a quick & simple recipe. The only trick is finding or having perfectly ripened avocados. Need some pointers on how to cut up an avocado? View the nice little tutorial from eHow below. 

2 small avocados or 1 large avocado
1 fresh lime
kosher salt
freshly ground pepper
handful of cilantro, roughly chopped

Optional add ins: diced tomato, diced jalapeno, hot sauce, salsa, garlic salt or powder. Sometimes my mom would season her guacamole with meat tenderizer.

  1. Cut & slice the avocados (tutorial below), and place them in a bowl.
  2. Squeeze about ½ of the lime juice or 1-2 tablespoons over the avocado (depends how limey you like it). Season with salt & pepper, and mash & stir to combine.
  3. Add cilantro & jalapenos if desired, stir to combine.
  4. Serve as a dip or use as a taco filling/topping.
3 Comments

  1. We are guac twins. This is pretty much how I make mine. Sometimes I even leave out cilantro. It’s verging on smooshed avocado rather than, guacamole, but it’s how I like it.

  2. It’s definitely verging on smooshed avocado. Let’s just say that we don’t want to tamper with the purity of the avocado. 😀

Leave a Reply

