Tweet Treat: Soba Salad

I haven’t posted very much this summer due to the usual busyness that is life, so I thought I would come up with a new series of posts. This series of posts will be short and quick recipes based on pictures or tweets that I’ve shared on Twitter. Hopefully, it will help me to post more frequently.

The first Tweet Treat recipe is ironically a salad. I don’t like salads because everyone thinks that they are the default meal of vegetarians. “Oh, you don’t eat meat? Well, there’s salad.” I’m sorry, but iceberg lettuce or any leafy vegetable plus a couple of other vegetables does not constitute a meal!

I’m sharing a salad recipe with you, because it’s been so hot and I’ve been so lazy, but it’s still a complete meal. I hope you enjoy it, and use it as a springboard to create your own perfect, complete salad!

Soba Noodle Salad (cell phone pic)

Romaine lettuce (or any other lettuce), chopped
1 tomato, chopped
Thai basil* (or any other basil or cilantro)
½ cup Edamame, cooked and shelled
About 2 oz. dried Soba* noodles, cooked and drained
Toasted sesame seeds or any rice seasoning
Your favorite Asian Dressing (I used Ken’s Asian Sesame Dressing)

Toss everything together, adding the amount of ingredients to your liking. I would add a crunchy salad topper like chow mein noodles or won ton strips next time. I would probably also add cucumbers, but this is what I had in my fridge and pantry at the time.

*I bought the Thai basil & soba noodles at the Wan Jia Le Supermarket on the eastside. I used the Hakubaku Organic Soba brand (no salt added!).

Leave a Reply

