Wasa Flatbread Giveaway

Wasa Flatbread has been a favorite of mine for over 10 years now. The whole foreign, import thing is what initially turned me on to Wasa, but the taste and health benefits have had me hooked ever since. Besides toast or cereal, Wasa with peanut butter, almond butter, Nutella, or hummus is my usual go-to breakfast or carry-along snack.

You can’t imagine how thrilled I was when they asked me to review their new “Flatbread, Thin & Crispy” line of whole grain crackers. They sent me a box of each flavor: Original, Sesame, and Rosemary. My first reaction was that they were way too thin and fragile, and would be bland. This was far from the truth, as they had a crunchy texture that held up to the toppings I placed on them. The Original variety had a nice buttery flavor without containing any dairy ingredients (they’re vegan!). The Sesame variety had a very subtle sesame flavor. I was a little disappointed at how subtle the flavor was, but this is actually good considering you don’t want the cracker to outshine your toppings. The Rosemary variety was my favorite in flavor, but it was a bit salty and had a higher sodium content as a result. This variety also has visible sea salt flakes on top. A serving size is 2 crackers and each variety contains at least 1 gram of fiber, 8 grams of whole grains, 2 grams of protein, 11 grams of carbs, and 70 calories.

  • Visit Wasa’s website for more info on their products and nutrition
  • Visit Wasa’s new Snackspiration Facebook Page to get and submit recipes, enter contests, & get a coupon.
  • Find Wasa products in El Paso at Albertson’s, Walmart, Sprout’s (Sun Harvest), Big Lots (when available), & other stores.

The Giveaway Rules: 

Wasa is giving my readers a chance to try all 3 flavors for free! Simply do the following, and I’ll randomly pick a winner next Monday, August 22, 2011 at Noon (Mountain Time).
  • Go ‘Like’ Wasa on Facebook
  • Leave a comment below telling me what you would put on Wasa crackers (mandatory)
  • If you’re on Twitter or FoodSpotting, go follow me.
Good Luck!
Wasa's new line of thin & crispy flatbread crackers (rosemary, original, & sesame)
Wasa's new line of thin & crispy flatbread crackers (rosemary, original, & sesame)
Left: Peanut butter, cocoa powder, & cinnamon on Original; Right: Cream cheese & Nanami Togarashi* on Sesame
*You can find Nanami Togarashiseasoning at Asian Markets

 

 

 

 

 

 

In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers I am disclosing the following: Wasa sent me these crackers and I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

9 comments

  1. Peanut butter is great with anything! I would also try some quinoa with sun-dried tomatoes in the Rosemary crackers.

  2. I LOVE wasa whole grain crackers. And I’d love to try these flatbreads! I like to make a riata dip with yogurt, cucumber, a little chive and parsley and spoon it on. Then I top with half a cherry tomato, yum! That is a very common afternoon snack for me!

  3. I would like to be considered for a freebie, but it’s November now and I may be too late finding this blog. Anyway, I want to share how I feel about these WONDERFUL crackers whether I get a freebie or not.

    2 and a half years ago, I found myself in the ER with severe chest pains. My digestive system had collapsed on me and from there on my diet had to SEVERELY change. One of those changes were grains and breads.

    About a year ago on a lark I was in Big Lots and saw the WASA bread and thought “let me try this”. I live mostly off barely cooked vegetables and salad and I thought that the Wasa would go great with those.

    I have tried since then all 3 – Original, Sesame and Rosemary. The Rosemary has too much salt for me and I can’t handle that. But I eat the Original and Sesame regularly.

    My favorite snack is homemade Spinach dip with Wasa crackers. I love it. I love these crackers to the point that when I am in Big Lots I buy $80-$100 dollars worth of them just to make sure I don’t run out.

    We recently moved in the last month to Greybull, WY and there are no stores that sell those within 50 miles (if that close). It is starting to look like we will have to go all the way to Billings to get to a Big Lots to get them. Big Lots sell them for $1.80-$2.00 per box or at least did back in Illinois. Everywhere else seems to charge well over $2.00 for them. I don’t know what they would cost here or in Montana.

    A better food has never been made as far as I am concerned. I believe I could live off of them if I had to. They are just that great. Right now I am online trying to find where I can mail order them, that is how I found this blog.

    • I’m sorry, but the giveaway is over. Maybe you can directly contact Wasa to tell them your story, and perhaps they’ll send you some free product or at least coupons. You can probably order them from Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

