HV’s Great Grill Challenge

Fort Collins based company, Harmony Valley Foods makes dehydrated hamburger style and sausage style mixes that are vegan, tasty, and convenient. I found this company on Twitter, and received a free package of their hamburger style mix for taking a survey. I was so excited to receive a sample that I put off trying it. I just couldn’t decide what to use it in, and I’m glad that I waited because they are currently hosting The Great Grill Challenge. This is a contest where you could win a grill or a year’s supply of their product for creating the best veggie burger. The contest ends July 15, 2011.

I was reluctant to enter after not being able to find HV’s mixes here in El Paso, but decided to give it a shot anyway.  At first, I wanted to create some type of southwest burger (I know it’s overdone, but I thought I could make it unique!). My partner thought it would be a better idea to make a chili cheeseburger so that the product is showcased in two different ways. I thought that was a brilliant idea and went running with it.

I created a fun, updated chili cheeseburger. I think this messy burger is loaded with flavors and textures that play well together. The crunch of the corn chips and peppery freshness of the arugula make it pop. You can make this burger quick and easy by using canned chili, green chiles, and jarred red peppers, or you can make a really great burger by roasting your own peppers and making the chili.

Please visit the Great Grill Challenge to enter the contest or vote for me!

Chili Chile Cheeseburger
Makes 2-4 burgers & plenty of chili.

1 5.7 oz. package of Hamburger Mix
Your favorite chili beans recipe
2-4 anaheim peppers, roasted (or use a can of diced green chile)
1 red bell (or use 1/4 cup jarred red peppers, diced)
Sliced Colby Jack cheese, or your favorite cheese
Arugula
Corn chips
Hamburger buns
Your favorite condiments

1. Prepare the hamburger mix according to the package directions.
2. Prepare chili recipe using half of hamburger mix and set the remainder aside.
3. Roast the green chile and red bell pepper; peel and dice.
4. Mix 1/4 cup of each pepper into the rest of the hamburger mix until evenly distributed. Season with fresh cracked black pepper.
5. Form into 4″ patties. Brush with olive oil and grill or pan fry for 3-5 minutes on each side, or until browned.
6. Spread mustard, mayo, etc. on bottom bun. Top with arugula, patty, corn chips, chili, cheese, and top bun.

There's a patty in there somewhere!
It's gonna get messy
3 Comments

  1. I am curious about one of the steps in the award wining recipe. At step 2 you say: 2. Prepare chili recipe using half of hamburger mix and set the remainder aside.
    Do you mean to make the patties using the “hamburger mix” and then crumble the “burger” into the chili? I looked at the chili recipe and it does not seem to indicate that I have to add “hamburger mix.” I read that I am supposed to add veggie “beef crumbles” to the chili. So my question is where do I add the hamburger mix and how? Thanks so much!

    1. Yes, you make the patties with half of the mix, and then crumble the rest into the chili. My chili recipe is a different recipe that was posted at a different time. You can use any chili recipe you like, and add the other half of the ‘hamburger mix’ wherever the recipe calls for beef. Hope this makes sense. Sorry to make it sound so confusing.

  2. Thanks much for the response. Glad I am not the lone vegetarian here in ELP! Very pleased to have found you. Have you reviewed Ruli’s yet? They have a few vegetarian entrees and a good selection of veggie Tapas. The veg options are even marked with a V! Worth a trip there if you have not done so yet.

Leave a Reply

