Review: Coach’s Grill

Update: This restaurant is now closed. 10/25/11
Last month, I chose to eat at Coach’s Grill in support of Dining Out For Life. Coach’s Grill is a tiny restaurant in the westside shopping center where Saver’s is located. Local and national sports memorabilia adorns this restaurant, along with two flat screen televisions. They have a variety of items on their menu that includes appetizers, salads, burgers, sandwiches, tacos, wings, pizza, and deep fried desserts.

Under Mexican Flavor, you’ll find nine different tacos of which three are vegetarian (maybe even vegan). There are veggie, spicy refried beans, and mashed potato tacos. I ordered the veggie tacos, which are 4 small tacos filled with red and green bell peppers and mushrooms. The tacos cost only $4.95, but don’t come with anything. I thought it was strange that you don’t even have the option of adding rice and beans. The tacos were very plain and simple yet flavorful. They seemed to only be seasoned with salt and pepper. I would have liked to have avocado, cheese, and sour cream in these tacos, but their simplicity let the flavors of the veggies shine through.

I ordered a side of the fresh home fries, but was disappointed. They hardly gave me any fries and they looked overcooked and tasted burnt. I sent them back and had them replaced with shoestring fries (frozen). These fries were much better, but they were just regular fries. The shoestring fries that I’ve had at other places are much thinner.

I asked if their beans were made with lard, but no one knew for sure. They said that they came premade, and ended up bringing me a sample of the beans. I immediately recognized the flavor of canned refried beans. Rosarita perhaps?

Other veg options include mozzarella sticks, jalapeno poppers, breaded shrooms, nachos, pizza, and a grilled cheese sandwich. Side dishes include mac & cheese, garlic mashed taters, grilled veggies, onion rings, and green bean casserole. Desserts include deep fried Oreos, Twinkies, Nutter Butters, candy bars, brownie, and cheesecake. They also have something called a Mexican Cheesecake. It consists of cheesecake filling spread on a flour tortilla and deep fried. The restaurant does not have fountain drinks, only canned beverages. Alcohol is BYOB.

While I was slightly disappointed with my food, I want to return and try their other offerings. It’s a really cute place, they have a variety of menu items, and the staff is very friendly. It would be nice if they offered a veggie sandwich as well.

Visit their website and Facebook page.

Veggie Tacos
Home Fries

Coach's Grill on Urbanspoon

5 comments

  1. All you have to do is ask and they would have given you a side of avocado! Sour Cream!… Coach’s Grill is not a Mexican Food Restuarunt and I am sure if you wanted beans on the side, again just ask. I’ve been going to coachs for over a year and am in love with the place. Anytime I ask for something that is not on the menu the guys in the back try and make it happpen for us. Very nice place and if its not on the menu, ask them they will do what they can to make you happy.

    • I didn’t ask because I was worried about being charged extra.
      Thanks for the suggestions, I’ll definitely give them another try! : )
      What’s your favorite dish from there (don’t worry if it’s not vegetarian)?

  2. Hey Veggi, I remember you very well and sorry you didnt like our beans. I started our making refried beans from scratch but ended up throwing them away most of the time, we just dont sell that much to justify it at this time. Out of everything on our menu the beans and K-So are my biggest concerns. I will try again though.. Please come back and let me know your in the Grill and let me make you a really good veggie hoagie. I think you will be very happy with the taste, as long as you like garlic…. Thanks for taking time and blogging us.. Any feed back is a good thing, good or bad I soak it all up. Again thank you for allowing our small Grill to be worth your review. ( The veggie Tacos have garlic salt and pepper along with butter)

    Coach

    • I never said I didn’t like the beans, it’s just that the flavor tasted familiar. I’m not picky, I’m a fan of fresh, canned, & dehydrated beans. Thanks so much for taking the time to read my blog and share all of this info. I can’t wait to try the veggie hoagie, and yes I like garlic. : ) You guys have great customer service. I wish your restaurant success!

Leave a Reply

