Korean Rice Bowl

After the Arirang Market tour, it was dinnertime and I was craving Asian food. I bought a few items from the market and was feeling inspired, but I didn’t feel like cooking.  I wanted to make a quick and easy meal for one, so I consulted my new go-to book, How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. I was able to find a Korean style sauce, and had all of the ingredients on hand except toasted sesame seeds.

I was tired and lazy, so the only ingredients that I cooked were the rice and the vegetables. Next time, I will probably try cooking the sauce and adding corn starch to thicken it. Don’t forget to take Becky’s advice and add the sesame oil at the end of cooking. I used plain white vinegar since Becky prefers it to rice wine vinegar.  Lastly, I topped my sushi bowl with the Nori Komi Furikake Rice Seasoning (sesame seeds, salt, sugar, & seaweed).

Recipe follows the photos.

Sushi Bowl for One

While the rice is cooking, make the sauce and prep the other ingredients. Cube a 1 inch slice of any kind of tofu. All I had on hand was soft silken (the kind that is in water). Add your favorite cooked fresh or frozen vegetables. I boiled a handful of broccoli slaw for a few minutes. Serve tofu and veggies over the rice, drizzle a few tablespoons of the sauce over them, and top with rice seasoning (optional).

From Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian:

Korean Style Soy & Sesame Sauce
Makes about 1 ½ cups

½ cup soy sauce
2 tbsp. rice vinegar (I used white vinegar)
2 tbsp. dark sesame oil
¼ cup toasted sesame seeds
1 tbsp. sugar
2 large garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp. peeled & grated fresh ginger

Combine all ingredients and stir until sugar is dissolved. Use immediately or refrigerate for up to 2 days. I added fresh, sliced jalapenos. You could also try adding red pepper flakes or sriracha sauce.

Hite Korean Beer
"The open mark turns blue." Just like the Coors Light mountains!
One comment

Leave a Reply

