Icky Goodness

Raw celery is something I have to force myself to eat. It has to be cooked to almost mush for me to enjoy. I rarely buy celery, because when I do, I use a couple of stalks and end up throwing away the rest after it has gone completely limp. I always promise myself that I will find other uses for it, but that hardly happens.

Last week, I bought celery for who knows what, used one stalk for who knows what, and then was determined to use the remainder all in one shot. If you told me you were making cream of celery, I would say ick. You had me at cream, but lost me at celery. Why would someone make a soup entirely of celery?! Sure, there’s Campbell’s, but who actually eats it? Everyone uses it as an ingredient in a recipe.

Well, I had to get rid of the vegetable, so why not? I began browsing my usual go-to sites for recipes, but there weren’t very many (see? I told you, no one wants celery soup). So, I borrowed ideas and cooking times from several and came up with my own, and I actually loved it. It’s rich, creamy, and tasty, but it still has a bit of a celery aftertaste (I’m okay with it). You will most likely have celery breath after eating it.

It’s a simple and fuss-free recipe. It doesn’t cook quickly, but there’s little prep work, little clean up, and you can do other things while it’s cooking. This soup is easily veganized without compromising the rich creaminess. You can use any stock. I like using Massel’s chicken style bouillon powder. I’m freaking out because I’m running out of it and I can’t find it anywhere! I think I bought it on clearance at Albertson’s.

This soup would taste good with pumpernickel bread. You can also try garnishing with Tabasco, sour cream, pita chips, croutons, etc.

Cream of Celery

2 tbsp. butter or vegan margarine
1 bunch of celery, washed, ends trimmed, & sliced (about ¼ inch)
1 small onion, chopped
1 potato, peeled & chopped
2 cups (or enough to cover vegetables) stock of your choice
¼ c. half & half, milk alternative, or cashew cream (optional)

  1. Melt butter over medium heat in a large dutch oven or pot.
  2. Add celery and onion. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Saute for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until softened
  4. Add potato and cook for about a minute.
  5. Add enough stock to cover the vegetables and simmer for about 15 minutes, or until potatoes are cooked through.
  6. Puree with an immersion blender or in a blender in batches.
  7. Stir in half & half. Season with salt and pepper if necessary.
Look at that. I tried to make little Tabasco swirls. Fail.
2 Comments

  1. Hi there! Love your recipes on your blog. I’d like to know, what ARE your usual go-to recipe websites? Thanks!

    1. Hi Jenny! Thank you! Usually my first go-to site is http://www.epicurious.com. They have amazing recipes that are never amiss, and you can always count on comments/tips from professional chefs. Their recipes are from Conde Nast publications such as Bon Apetit and Gourmet magazine, which can be intimidating at times, but they are feasible! I also love http://www.cookinglight.com. Google now has a recipe finder feature on the left hand side of their page that I’ve been meaning to try. I’ve heard good things about it.

Leave a Reply

