Foodie Finds: Fresh Garbanzo Beans

I was at the Walmart Neighborhood Market last week when I spotted a pile of little green pods in the produce section. At first I thought they were fava beans, but as I got closer they were labeled as fresh garbanzo beans. I was really excited to try them, so I grabbed a few handfuls even though I had no idea what to do with them.

I could have sworn they were $1.46 a pound (that’s what I told the cashier when she couldn’t find their code), but when I went to the Supercenter today, the sign said $4.98. This might seem a little pricey, but they weigh next to nothing so you can get a good amount for cheap.

Of course, I googled them and found tons of recipes and info on them. The Food Section’s post was one of my favorite pages that I came across. I decided to pan roast them, but I may try steaming them as well. Before I cooked them, I tried them raw. They had a raw, earthy flavor, but they also had the same aftertaste as falafel.

I drizzled a bit of oil in a nonstick pan over medium heat. I tossed the unpeeled beans in, shaking them frequently, and cooked them for a few minutes, until their husks were charred. They cook very quickly, and like most of the resources said, tasted similar to edamame.

Hurry up and grab some fresh garbanzo beans for yourself before they’re gone! It’s worth braving Walmart/Walmarket at this time of year to try something new.

Fresh garbanzo beans in the raw & exposed.

 

Leave a Reply

