Review: Kipp’s Cheesesteak

Update: This place is not vegetarian friendly. It turns out that their veggie sandwich is made with beef broth.

My coworker and I had the opportunity to work the El Paso Public Library’s Annual Great Southwest book Festival this past October. During our lunch break, we went walking downtown to find somewhere to eat and happened upon Kipp’s Cheesesteak. I’ve been wanting to try this place out, but had visited their website and found no vegetarian choices, except for salads. When we entered and asked for vegetarian options, they said they had a veggie sandwich.

We were asked if we wanted cheez whiz or provolone, which was a tough decision for me since the whiz is near and dear to my childhood. When I was little, my dad came up with this awesome quesadilla that appeased my picky eating habits. It was a corn tortilla with peppered beef (?) and cheez whiz (long before my vegetarian days). I ended up choosing provolone for the melty factor. The sandwich was pretty large, but I didn’t think it was worth paying $9 for a sandwich, fries, and drink. What would it cost if I ate meat?!

The bread was pretty good, but white was the only option (I always feel guilty when I eat white, plus wheat is so much more flavorful). It had bell peppers, onions, mushrooms, spinach, tomatoes, and I think green chile. Some parts were really flavorful, while others were bland. They did not skimp on the cheese. The fries were crinkle cut fries, which made me think of frozen fries (they claim to hand cut their fries). I would recommend this place for its fun atmosphere and beer selection, but it is definitely overpriced for vegetarians. Vegans may be restricted to salads (unsure if the bread has animal products or if veggies are cooked where meat is cooked).

Kipp’s is located at 203 E. Mills. Check out their website and menu here.

Love the sign!

Cheezy!

KIPPS Cheesesteak on Urbanspoon

16 comments

  1. When the name of the restaurant has the word “steak” in it, I think it’s a safe bet that they are going to specialize in meat products…not the best place for a vegetarian or vegan.

    • Well, most places try to accommodate vegetarians, people with health concerns, and allergies regardless of what type of restaurant they are. The State Line offers grilled vegetarian kabobs and Rib Hut has a veggie pita. Vegetarians often dine with meat-eaters, so it’s nice to know that places with “meat” in their name offer a veg option.

      • I could of gaven you some grass from the back of my truck. We did not climb this high in the food chain to be eating plants. Get over it and stop complaining. The zoo is five minutes from there , they got plenty of hay.

      • Well, I guess you didn’t climb high enough in the food chain to learn proper grammar. I really don’t care what anyone’s diet is, so I’m not sure why people care so much that I abstain from eating meat.

        However, I do appreciate that you took the time to visit and comment on my blog.

  2. I have to agree with Daniel on this post. Meat is Kipp’s mainstay. Also, if you’re so concerned about eating healthy, then don’t get Cheese Wiz for that matter (or any cheese) because that’s inordinately unhealthy.

    You don’t go to Kipp’s to be “healthy,” so you should just square with that. You go to Kipp’s to be happy and eat deliciously *unhealthy* food on purpose. Asking for “healthy” stuff from Kipp’s is like the person who drinks beer and worries about carbs (in other words, ridiculous). If you want to stay healthy, then make Kipps a once-in-a-while treat. Cheese steak eateries are not for the health conscious individual.

    But none-the-less, try asking for a salad next time without the meat, as he has plenty of those as well! The Gold Digger is most excellent and I recommend it if you need to slim down.

    • Wow! Calm down! I never said I was trying to eat healthy. I just don’t like white bread, and I just wanted something vegetarian. Vegetarian doesn’t necessarily equal healthy. Like I said before, plenty of “meaty” restaurants cater to vegetarians such as State Line and Rib Hut. There’s even a new restaurant in Austin called Bacon that includes vegetarian and vegan menu options. Before everyone jumps all over that statement– no, I’m not comparing El Paso to Austin, nor do I care to move there. I’m just providing another example.

      Nonetheless, it’s great to know that El Pasoans are passionate about local establishments. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and comment. Keep supporting local businesses so they don’t shut down!

  3. I don’t support Kips because they financially support the No Recall effort being led by loony Tom Brown. I realize that this isn’t a political blog but just thought I’d throw that out there in case someone happens upon this blog. If you want to support bigotry Kip’s is a great place to eat.

    • Thanks for the info. Where did you hear this from? Sorry, I’m a librarian, so I always like to verify sources of information.

    • I am Kipp, and I can tell you that this is entirely false. I do not lend my support to any political cause or agenda. Especially none that are intolerant. Might want to check your facts before you crank up the rumor mill. Eat at KiPPS!

      • Thanks for personally responding, Kipp. I can imagine how upsetting it must be for people to be spreading libelous remarks about your business. I have decided not to delete the post. Instead, I have placed a strikethrough on the comment.

    • Scott, this type of comment is getting rather tiresome, and you obviously did not read the previous comments. So, I will simply copy & paste my previous response here:

      “Well, most places try to accommodate vegetarians, people with health concerns, and allergies regardless of what type of restaurant they are. The State Line offers grilled vegetarian kabobs and Rib Hut has a veggie pita. Vegetarians often dine with meat-eaters, so it’s nice to know that places with “meat” in their name offer a veg option”

      Regardless, I do appreciate that you took the time to visit my blog and comment.

Leave a Reply

