Bake Sale!

This is really short notice, but if you happen to be on the westside on Saturday, be sure to stop by Sun Harvest between 11 am and 2 pm. The Vegetarian Society of El Paso will be selling vegan baked goods to help raise money for their organization. If you decide to become a member, you’ll receive a free treat!

I donated some vegan brownie bites that I made last night, which happen to be my favorite brownies ever! They have chocolate chunks, walnuts, and coconut (and tofu, but shhh!). I’ve been making this recipe for years ever since I discovered it in the Vegetarian Society’s publication, Life Giving Choices (you receive it with your membership). I love this recipe because it is surprisingly amazing and it has no eggs. I have issues with eggs. I’m always afraid I’m gonna get salmonella. You can even lick the batter without worry! Although, you might get a stomach ache from too much raw flour.

Tips: If you’re not a vegan, any margarine or butter and chocolate chips will do. If you are a vegan, try using Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread and Baker’s semi-sweet chocolate chunks. Earth Balance is available everywhere, including Walmart. I found the chocolate chunks at Albertson’s. I didn’t use a full cup of nuts, because they’re expensive. I only used a handful. I also toasted them, but you don’t have to. I didn’t use the full cup of chocolate chunks/chips, because I’m not a big fan of chocolate. I only used half a cup. If you buy the silken tofu in the plastic container, you will need about less than one container. You don’t have to use a food processor; I usually use an electric hand mixer.

When serving friends, coworkers, family, etc., don’t tell them the brownies are vegan and have tofu in them!!! You’ll risk losing them. Wait until after they try them, so they’ll be surprised that vegan food can actually be delicious. : )

I’ll post pictures of the brownies later.

Choco-Nut Brownie Bars

1 1/3 flour
½ cup margarine
3 tbsp. vegetable oil
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
½ tsp. vanilla
1 cup walnuts or pecans, chopped
¾ cup coconut flakes (sweetened or unsweetened)
½ tsp. baking soda
1 cup sugar
1 ½ cups silken soft tofu
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips or chunks

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Combine flour and baking soda; set aside.
  3. Combine margarine, sugar, and oil in food processor or mixer, and process 2 minutes or until light and fluffy.
  4. Add the tofu and process 2 more minutes.
  5. Add cocoa powder and vanilla, and process until mixed thoroughly.
  6. Fold in the flour mixture a little at a time.
  7. Fold in the nuts, chocolate chips, and coconut.
  8. Pour the batter into a lightly oiled large baking dish and bake for 20-35 minutes.
  9. Cut into bars and serve.

Wow, I was so impressed! There was even a cupcake with raspberry frosting. My poor little brownies looked so ghetto in comparison to everyone else’s offerings. Hope you can make it to the next bake sale!

Leave a Reply

