Happy World Vegetarian Day!

On October 1, 1977, the North American Vegetarian Society established an annual celebration to promote vegetarianism. World Vegetarian Day also kicks off an entire month of Vegetarian Awareness. I’m a little ashamed to say that I’ve been a veggie for 12 years and never knew about these events. You can visit the site to find more info and how you can celebrate.

One of the reasons that I started this blog was to promote vegetarianism in El Paso (and in general), and break the stereotype that vegetarian food is gross and boring. I have never tried to convert anyone to vegetarianism, but I will say that it is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. It helped me learn that I love to cook,and it introduced me to new foods and cuisines that I never would have tried before.

Many people think it’s really hard to be a vegetarian (especially in El Paso), but I have never bought into that generalization. You just have to be creative, know your options, and plan ahead. There are plenty of great resources and meat substitutes out there. Some restaurants have even become more sensitive to the needs of vegetarians. Locally, you can find support by joining the Vegetarian Society of El Paso. They have monthly social events and can provide you with resources. To celebrate World Vegetarian Day, they’ll be handing out vegan Sloppy Joes at UTEP’s Leech Grove from 10:30 am to 1:30 pm on October 1st. Check out VSEP’s events for the month of October here.

As a new veggie blogger, I’ll be celebrating by posting more frequently throughout the month with a focus on how easy it is to be a veggie in El Paso (or anywhere else!). I’m also going to pledge to go vegan for a week. If you know me, then you know this is going to be really hard for me. Have you seen that Kraft Mac & Cheese commercial where the little boy is talking about how much his dad loves cheese? “If he was eating cheese, he’d put cheese on it. He’s like a cheese monster.” Yeah, well that’s me. I’ll keep you updated on how my week of veganism goes.

One comment

Leave a Reply

