Foodie Finds: Roasted Saigon Cinnamon

I was browsing through the spice aisle the other day, because I’ve been wanting to splurge on some good or exotic cinnamon. I love cinnamon so much so, that I don’t drink the last bit of my coffee because it’s become a cinnamon loogie.

McCormick just released a new spice called Roasted Saigon Cinnamon that’s part of their gourmet collection. I almost bought it immediately, but decided to hold off since Albertsons can be pricey. I ended up finding it for $3 at the Walmart Supermarket.

I think it was worth the $3. It had a complex, smoky sweet flavor that really enhanced my coffee. It kind of reminded me of this coffee that I once had in Denver at Paris on the Platte. I can’t remember what it was called, but it was a New Orleans style coffee made with chicory, topped with froth, and dusted with cinnamon (if my memory serves me correctly).  I think the name started with a B, but all that comes to mind is Bon Temps (stupid True Blood).

Leave a Reply

