Farmers Market, Part 3

Once again, here is what I bought.

Okay, this will be the last post about farmers markets. I just wanted to share what I made with what I bought at Ardivino’s. I might still post something about La Union if I ever make it out there. Maybe when it cools down a bit I’ll want to pick my own vegetables.

I didn’t make anything exemplary or unique, but it was still pretty good. Well, most of it was anyway.

Lemon Cucumber in a Tea Sandwich:

This round, yellow cuke is fresh and citrusy, hence its name. I kept this really simple by peeling and slicing it to be included in a cream cheese, lemon thyme & chives (also bought @ the market), fresh ground pepper, and sea salt sandwich.

Roasted Handpicked Carrots:

I was told that these young carrots were handpicked, and they were so beautiful, I couldn’t resist buying them. Unfortunately, they might have been picked too young because they were soapy tasting. I tossed them with extra virgin olive oil, kosher salt, and fresh ground pepper, and baked them in the toaster oven.

Garlic:

This garlic was very different from the supermarket garlic, and not for the better. The cloves were mild and starchy. I sauteed it with just about everything, but it didn’t seem to add much flavor.

Yellow Tomatoes:

These tiny tomatoes were amazing! They were sweet with a slight saltiness. I didn’t incorporate them into anything. This sounds cheezy, but they were too delicious on their own to combine them with anything.

Round Zucchini in Calabacitas:

These green and yellow zucchinis were perfectly round and blemish free. I wanted to do something fancy with them, but I ended up making calabacitas. For those that aren’t familiar, calabacitas literally translates into “little squashes.” It’s a Mexican side dish usually consisting of zucchini, corn, tomatoes, onion, garlic, and cheese. This is one of my favorite dishes and one that I usually turn to when I can’t think of any veggie side dishes to make.

Japanese Eggplant in Green Curry:

I sliced the eggplant up and sauteed it with tofu that had been frozen, thawed, and drained. Sometimes I like to freeze tofu, because it gives the tofu a nice chewy texture. I added the tofu, eggplant, and some frozen veggies to a green curry sauce that I prepared from a jarred paste.

Haha, I used the same plate.

Pattypan Squash with Pasta:

I sliced the pattypan squash in half, drizzled olive oil on it, seasoned it with salt and pepper, and baked it for about 5 minutes on each side in the toaster oven. Meanwhile, I browned slices of garlic in olive oil and added some leftover jarred spaghetti sauce (I happened to use Bertolli’s Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce w/CabernetSauvignon the other day). I added leftover whole wheat penne that I had frozen the previous week, along with some frozen peas. I simmered this until everything was cooked through, and then added fresh basil (from the market) and the roasted squash.  The squash tasted really good on its own, but even better with the pasta.

Fresh Herbs:

I used the herbs here and there, as noted above. The lady that sold them to me, told me that they would keep longer if I placed them in a jar/glass of water at room temperature. I’m a procrastinator, so I left some of them in the glass of water a little too long. Two of the basil cuttings ended up sprouting roots in the water! I decided to plant them, and so far they haven’t died yet! I’ve been keeping them in my bathroom so that my cats don’t nibble on them. It seems that the brightness (skylight) and coolness in the bathroom is a favorable climate for them!

Have you made anything fresh and flavorful this summer?

Leave a Reply

