Foodie Finds: Brown Rice Tortillas

I’m not sure if brown rice tortillas fall under the “foodie” category, but they definitely fall under specialty foods. These tortillas are great for people who are allergic to wheat and gluten, or like me, just want to try something different. I found these tortillas at Sun Harvest while browsing the refrigerated area. I decided to give them a try since they were under $3. They’re not quite inexpensive since only six come in a package, but it’s worth it if you suffer from food allergies.

For some reason I thought these tortillas would pack a lot of fiber. I was nutritionally disappointed that they  only contained 2 grams of fiber, while whole wheat tortillas can pack about 7 grams, depending on brand. They also contained only 2 grams of protein, whereas wheat contain about 8 grams. On the upside, brown rice tortillas are low in fat, calories, and sodium. They also contain 95 milligrams of potassium.

These tortillas are a little odd at first due to their bubbly looking surface and brittle texture, but once heated they become more pliable. I heated mine over the open flame of a burner, but you can also use a pan or skillet. Once heated, they also attain a nice, chewy texture. It is a toothsome chewiness, unlike wheat tortillas which can make your jaw grow weary. I’m not sure how to describe the flavor, but it was a good and subtle nutty flavor.

While I didn’t make anything exciting with them (I only used them for burritos), I did try toasting them in the oven. The outcome was a light, crispy texture with a toasted rice flavor. It was so quick and simple, and I didn’t have to use any oil or seasonings. I just laid the tortilla directly on the rack of my toaster oven, and baked it for a few minutes at 350°, turning the tortilla once. Be very careful not to burn it and careful when handling. The tortilla gets very hot and retains that heat for awhile. I liked the flavor better when it was a dark golden brown. You can even cut the tortillas into strips or triangles for chips. I really fell in love with the texture and flavor.

The brown rice tortillas that I bought are made by Food For Life Baking Co.

Does anyone know if Cielo Vista Natural Market or other stores carry them or any other brands?

Tostada/Chip Recap:

  1. Preheat toaster oven at 350°F on toast or bake setting.
  2. Cut into strips or triangles and place on a baking pan, or place a whole tortilla directly on the toaster oven rack.
  3. Bake/toast for 3-10 minutes depending on desired crispness and darkness.
  4. Carefully remove from oven and let cool.
  5. Enjoy!
These chips should have been toasted a bit longer!
Leave a Reply

