Simple Things

As much as I love complex recipes, sometimes I need and crave quick and simple foods. Last week, I didn’t know what to eat for breakfast and I hadn’t done my grocery shopping yet. Fortunately, I had enough items to whip up a smoothie. I usually prefer thick smoothies, but the thin consistency was refreshingly light, yet still creamy. I drank it with my version of a PB & J sandwich, which is peanut butter and a bit of berry jelly on Wasa Crispbread. Wasa is a German Swedish whole grain cracker that comes in many varieties including wheat, rye, and fiber. They can be found in the cracker aisle of the grocery store. Sometimes Big Lots carries them at a low price.

Kale is one of my favorite greens and also happens to be one of the so-called super foods, but for some reason I don’t eat it very often. Adding smoked paprika gives it a nice smoky bacon flavor. I sometimes like to add acids to my greens, such as lemon juice and zest or balsamic vinegar.  Lentils are one of my favorite legumes, and like Kale, I don’t eat them often enough. I’ve always wanted to make a lentil burger. Has anyone made these before or heard of a good recipe?

Breakfast

Blue Monde Smoothie

8 oz. Almond Milk
About a handful of blueberries
½ -1 tsp of Honey or other sweetener

Blend and enjoy.

Lunch or Dinner

Quick & Easy Lentils

3 carrots, peeled and diced
About ½ cup diced onion
1 garlic clove, minced
½ cup lentils, sorted and rinsed
1 bay leaf
About 2 cups water

Sauté onion and carrots (season w/salt & pepper) for about 5 minutes, adding the garlic during the last minute. Add the water (more or less depending on desired consistency) and the lentils. Season with more salt and pepper to taste. Add bay leaf. Cook for 15-20 minutes or until tender. You can replace the water with veggie broth or sprinkle “chicken” bouillon powder (Massel Better Bouillon Chicken Style).

Smoky Kale

1 bunch of Kale, washed, ribs removed, & leaves torn
2 garlic cloves, minced
Red pepper flakes
Smoked Paprika

Heat oil over medium-high heat. Add garlic, cooking until browned, but be careful not to burn. Add a few pinches of red pepper flakes. Add Kale and toss every few minutes. Cook until bright green and tender, about 5-10 minutes. Season with salt, pepper, and a few sprinkles  of smoked paprika.

Serve the lentils and kale with some good crusty bread (I had sun-dried tomato) and extra virgin olive oil. Makes about 2-4 servings.

What are your favorite quick recipes?

5 Comments

  1. i love me some fried kale sprinkled with sea salt, i would pick that anyday over french fries, even Whataburger’s

Leave a Reply

