Review: El Paso City Grill

Update: This restaurant now has new owners & new location at 101 N. Kansas at San Antonio. 9/7/12

Today I had a meeting at the Main Library downtown, and I was really hoping to get out in time to eat at El Paso City Grill. This is one of my favorite restaurants that I rarely visit. It can be difficult to find parking and I am usually not able to make it out there before it closes. It’s probably one of the only restaurants in town that truly caters to vegetarian and vegan needs. It’s located at the corner of South Mesa and Third Street. It’s really small inside, but they have a nice outside patio.

Their menu features a variety of items, ranging from panini sandwiches to Italian and Mexican entrees. The menu’s array of entrees may seem slightly off-putting at first, but everything is excellent and comes in a good portion size. This restaurant is extremely affordable at about $5-8 a plate. They offer takeout and free delivery to the area.

I really love their veggie panini which is not on the menu, but the chef will gladly oblige to making it vegetarian or vegan. Peppers, mushrooms, zucchini, cheese, and what tastes like a red pepper aioli come on bread that has a lot of sesame seeds and dried Italian spices. The first time that I ate at EP City Grill, I had this panini and they apologized for the long wait. Their excuse was that they had washed the knives and the pans so that no meat contaminated the sandwich! Can you imagine a restaurant in El Paso actually caring about meat contaminating the food?! The Panini comes with a salad of mixed greens, almonds, berries, and a balsamic vinaigrette.

I have also sampled their chile rellenos, which I am not usually fond of due to the “eggy” taste. EP City Grill’s are the best that I have ever tasted and the plumpest I have ever seen. Their breading is light and airy without the eggy taste and the tomato sauce is delicious. They came with rice and beans which didn’t seem to taste like they had any animal ingredients, but I will have to ask next time. The enchiladas Suiza are really tasty, too. The Suiza sauce is a creamy green sauce that has a lovely nutty flavor. I believe the sauce also had green chili, tomatillo, and cilantro in it. Salads, pastas, and breakfast items are also available on the menu. Freshly made desserts by Sweet’Art Festive Cakes are available as well. On one visit, I was persuaded to try the chocolate cake with a drizzle of Cognac. I’m not a fan of chocolate, but the cake was moist and the Cognac really brought out the flavors. Be sure to order an iced tea or fresh berry lemonade. The iced tea is really good and the lemonade has a nice slushy like consistency.

It’s been awhile since I’ve been there, so please let me know about your experiences and if I have misrepresented any information.

You can also check out their website for a map, hours, phone number, and reviews by other publications. Their menu used to be on the site, but I can’t seem to find it anymore.

http://www.elpasocitygrill.com/
El Paso City Grill on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

